Women's Track and Field Competes in Pioneer Invitational

Women's Track and Field Competes in Pioneer Invitational

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. – The Castleton women's track and field team competed in the Pioneer Invitational on Saturday hosted by Smith College.

Castleton had eight top-five finishes on the day, including Brielle DeBaise, who took first overall in the discus throw and fourth in the hammer.

DeBaise took the top spot by over one meter in the discus with a throw of 34.52 meters. Springfield's Carly Markos finished second with a throw of 33.50 meters, before Carley Patch reached a third-place distance of 30.90 meters for the Spartans. Iyanna Williams earned a fifth-place finish with a distance of 29.68 meters. DeBaise also led the Spartans with a 37.58-meter throw in the hammer, which was good enough for fourth place. Ally Stearns finished fifth in the hammer with a throw of 36.52 meters.

Freshman Kaylyn Crompton earned a second-place finish in the 800-meter run, crossing the line a half second behind first with a time of 2:29.04. Miranda Messeck and Eleanor Baldauf also competed in the 800-meter run for the Spartans, clocking in at 2:54.66 and 2:58.84, respectively. Sierra Ostrow-Remey was the top finisher in the 100-meter dash for Castleton, capturing fifth-place with a time of 13.71 seconds. Elizabeth Bassette placed 13th in the dash with a time of 14.48 seconds.

Marissa Langley set a new personal best and program pace in the pole vault, placing third overall with a height of 2.65 meters.

The Spartans reeled in a pair of top-10 finishes in the shot put. Stearns led the way with a ninth-place throw of 9.43 meters, before Emily Cromie earned a 10th-place finish with a 9.24-meter throw. Brianna Hake led Castleton in the javelin with a sixth-place throw of 32.74 meters, just ahead of Debaise's seventh-place throw of 30.91 meters.

Christiana Carmichael brought home a top-10 finish in the 100-meter hurdles, placing ninth overall with a time of 18.09 seconds.

Castleton returns to action Saturday at Fitchburg State for the Eric Loeschner Memorial.