Castleton Women’s Rugby Sets 2017 Schedule

Castleton Women’s Rugby Sets 2017 Schedule

2017 Castleton University Women's Rugby Schedule

CASTLETON, Vt. – The competition schedule for the Castleton University women's rugby team's second season of NCAA varsity competition has been established, with an even split of five home contests and five road games in the 10-match slate.

Similar to the other Castleton fall sports, the rugby team begins the season on Labor Day weekend, traveling to Fairfield, Conn., to face Sacred Heart University Friday, Sept. 1. The Spartans hit the road again the following weekend, heading to Brookville, N.Y., to face LIU Post Sunday, Sept. 10, as the Pioneers enter their first season of varsity competition.

Castleton opens the home schedule on Homecoming Weekend, welcoming Molloy College to Alumni Field Sunday, Sept. 17, for a 1 p.m. kickoff. The Spartans head back to Fairfield, Conn., on Saturday, Sept. 23, for a neutral-site contest against Mount St. Mary's University, also entering its first year as a varsity program.

The Spartans close the month of September with a home game against Bowdoin Saturday, Sept. 30, before traveling to Molloy for a rematch against the Lions Saturday, Oct. 7. Castleton returns to Alumni Field for another rematch, this time hosting LIU Post Sunday, Sept. 15.

The final road contest of the 2017 season finds Castleton traveling to Maine to take on the University of New England Saturday, Oct. 21. The Spartans close out the schedule with two home games, welcoming Sacred Heart Saturday, Oct. 28, and Norwich Sunday, Nov. 5.

Frank Graziano returns for his second season at the helm of the Castleton women's rugby program.