NCAA Division III Wrestling Championship Brackets Announced

NCAA Division III Wrestling Championship Brackets Announced

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The brackets for the 2017 NCAA Division III Wrestling Championships were released Tuesday morning, with Castleton University senior Zak Hale among the 18 participants competing for the 141-pound title this weekend at the La Crosse Center in La Crosse, Wis.

Hale was placed in an opening round match against Gregory Warner of York College in Pennsylvania, also with the mascot Spartans. Warner, a sophomore from Newville, Pa., brings a 28-10 record into the national meet, won the 141-pound title at the Roger Williams Invitational on Nov. 12, and finished third in the Mideast Regional to advance to the national championships.

The winner of that match will move into the round of 16 against fifth seed David Flynn of Augsburg College, the winner of the West Regional. Flynn, a native of Jordan, Minn., is 21-4 this season with victories in three regular season tournaments.

Hale brings a 35-4 overall record into the national competition, including victories in 32 of his last 34 matches. He has previously faced two other competitors at this weekend's competition, boasting a 3-0 record against Brendon Seyfried of Williams College and suffering an overtime loss to Joseph Ferinde of Johnson & Wales in the Northeast Regional final on Feb. 26.

The national championships are scheduled to begin Friday, March 10, at 11 a.m. local time (12 noon Eastern time), with subsequent sessions scheduled for 6 p.m. Friday, 10 a.m. Saturday, March 11, and 7 p.m. Saturday. Links to live video and live results will be available through the Castleton athletics website ( and the athletics site of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (