Six Spartans Named To Inaugural AHCA Scholars List

Six Spartans Named To Inaugural AHCA Scholars List


BOSTON, Mass. – Six members of the 2016-17 Castleton University women's ice hockey team have been recognized by the American Hockey Coaches Association on its first-ever All-American Scholars list.

Jocelyn Forrest, Sabrina Hosner, Ashley Pelkey, Hannah Rose, Rylie Wills and Hannah Wright are six of just 253 Division III women's ice hockey players to receive the honor.

The award was created to help bring attention to those who excelled on the ice while also in the classroom. Ice hockey players who maintain a minimum of a 3.60 grade-point average, while partaking in 40 percent of their team's contests are eligible for recognition.

Castleton's 2017 season begins on Oct. 21 as the Spartans travel to face four-time defending National Champion Plattsburgh in an exhibition game. Stay tuned for a full schedule release on Thursday afternoon.


 @CastletonSports | IG: castletonsports | FB: Castleton University Athletics