12 Spartans Earn NEHC All-Academic Honors

12 Spartans Earn NEHC All-Academic Honors

CASTLETON, Vt. – 12 members of the Castleton University women's hockey team were recognized on Tuesday afternoon, as the New England Hockey Conference announced its All-Academic honorees for the 2016-17 season.

All four seniors were honored, as Ashley Pelkey, Hannah Wright, Sabrina Hosner, and Ally Brandland each earned All-Academic recognition for the third consecutive year. Hannah Rose and Lisa Kilroy were also recognized, along with sophomores Rylie WillsAimee Briand, Jade Remillard, Chanel Tvergyak, Felicia Bjalvegard, and Jocelyn Forrest.

The Spartans finished the regular season on a high note with four wins in their last five games to push their playoff fate through Spartan Arena in the NEHC quarterfinal round.  

To be eligible for All-Academic recognition a student must carry a minimum of a 3.0 cumulative GPA and have completed one full-year at their current institution.

Each of the 14 NEHC institutions were represented with 148 student-athletes in total earning the honor. Saint Michael's College led the way with 17 honorees. To view the full list of honorees, click here