Men's Tennis Set for NAC East Championships at Colby-Sawyer

Men's Tennis Set for NAC East Championships at Colby-Sawyer

CASTLETON, Vt. – The Castleton men's tennis team travels to Colby-Sawyer on Saturday morning, competing as the No. 3 seed in the North Atlantic Conference East Division Championship.

The Spartans take on No. 2 Thomas in the semifinal round after going 4-2 in the NAC East regular season, while top-seeded Colby-Sawyer faces off with MCLA. The winners of the semifinal round will compete for the NAC East Championship later in the day.

Castleton's Seth Marcil, Quentin Barthe and Ryan Mulder are fresh off of All-Conference recognition, with Marcil being named First Team singles and Second Team doubles, while Barthe landed Second Team singles and doubles honors. Mulder rounded out the crew with Second Team singles honors.

Marcil and Barthe played their way to a 10-2 mark in doubles action, while Marcil went 8-4 at No. 1 singles and Barthe was 10-2 in No. 2 singles. Mulder posted a 9-2 mark in singles action, and teamed up with multiple partners for a 9-2 mark in doubles action as well.

Jared Wheeler went 8-0 at Nos. 4 and 5 singles, while Trevor Hanna went 7-1 on the year in singles action. Hanna posted a 6-2 mark in doubles play with Mulder, and Wheeler was 5-3 in doubles play with multiple partners. Other key pieces for the Spartans have been Tyler Wilcox, who is 5-2 in singles action, and Brody Wagner, who went 4-2 in limited singles play.

Thomas posted a 5-1 regular-season mark and a pair of players to the NAC All-Conference singles teams, including NAC East Rookie of the Year, Ryan Chasse. Zach Disch was named to the NAC East Second Team, while Chasse made first team for his performance. The duo was also named First Team for doubles, while Kaleb Payson and Jared Waterhouse earned Second Team honors in doubles for the Terriers.

Colby-Sawyer (6-0 NAC East) has the NAC East Player of the Year and First Team All-Conference selection in Gustav Jigrup, as well as fellow First Team selections Dean Boodakian and Alex Wright. The Chargers also have Second Team honoree Ryan Sawyer. All four members of the singles teams also earned First Team doubles recognition.

MCLA's Aaron Goldsmith was voted First Team All-Conference, while Robert Wabshinak landed Second Team honors. MCLA went 3-3 in the NAC East regular season to earn the last seed in the tournament.

The Spartans finished as NAC East runners-up a season ago, falling to Colby-Sawyer, 5-0, in the NAC East Championship.