Ojala Named NAC Rookie of the Year, Second Team All-Conference

Ojala Named NAC Rookie of the Year, Second Team All-Conference

WATERVILLE, Maine – After leading all freshmen in the field at the North Atlantic Conference Men's Golf Championship over the weekend, Castleton University's Nicholas Ojala has been named the NAC Rookie of the Year in addition to landing All-NAC Second Team recognition.

Ojala posted back-to-back rounds of 78 to finish with a 36-hole score of 156, good for a share of seventh place overall. It was his second-best 36-hole score of the season and helped guide Castleton to a fourth-place finish as a team in the tournament. Ojala finished the season with a team-best 78.5 stroke average, the lowest scoring average since Zach Temple finished the 2016 season with a 76.1 average. He was the only freshman across the 11-teams to finish in the top-25 in the field.

The rookie posted a season-low round of 74 at the opening round of the Southern Maine Fall Classic, and finished a round under 80 strokes in eight of his 10 outings on the season. His best finish in terms of placement on the season came at the Castleton Invitational, where he shot 79-79-158 to finish in sole possession of second place en route to a team victory.

Jacob Erwin was recognized with a place on the NAC Sportsmanship Team, an honor reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's golf culture and match environment, and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that goes beyond golf rules and etiquette.

SUNY-Delhi's Daniel Christy was named the NAC Player of the Year after claiming individual medalist honors at the NAC Championship, carding rounds of 75-73-148 to take the title. SUNY-Delhi also claimed Coach of the Year honors, as Dave Arehart was recognized after leading his squad to a second-place finish just three strokes behind four-time defending champion Husson. NVU-Johnson's David Albright earned Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year honors for his performance both on the course and in the classroom, as voted on by NAC member institutions' Faculty Athletics Representatives.